J.C. Wheeler Public Library

Loading palette preview

Your Library Card

Getting a card, renewing materials, placing holds, etc.

Who can get a card?
Persons living in the J.C. Wheeler Library service area (Martin, Orangeville and Watson Townships) may apply for a library card.

How to Get Your Card?
Adult applicants must present a valid Michigan Driver's License, Michigan Identification Card, or Resident Alien Card documenting identity and current street address.  If the address on the proof of identification  described above is not currently valid, you must provide at least one of the following additional proofs to verify the current address:

  • Utility bill in the applicant's name with the current address received in the past two months.
  • Voter's registration in the applicant's name with current address.
  • Printed checks in the applicant's name with current address.
  • Hospitalization or insurance card in the applicant's name with current address.
  • Recent local property tax bill in the applicant's name with current address.
  • Juvenile applicant's may apply for a library card but must have a parent or legal guardian sign a library card permission slip.  The parent or legal guardian accepts all responsibility for the use of the card and any fines or fees incurred on the minor's card.

    The fee for a lost or damaged card is $2.00.  All charges must be paid in full before a new card will be issued.

    Borrowing Limits 

    Adults are limited to borrowing 15 items from the library at a time.  Juveniles are limited to borrowing 10 items at a time.

    Placing Holds
    You may request a hold be put on a book that is currently checked out by another patron.  Your name will be put into the queue for the book you are asking for.  You may either put your request in by phone or in person.

    Renewing Your Borrowed Items
    You may borrow books, audios and videos for 21 days and magazines for 7 days.  You may renew your items one time either by phone or in person.

    Library Fines
    Fines for overdue items will accrue at the rate of ten cents per day, per item.  A patron will not be able to check out any materials if he/she has any outstanding fines or overdue books amounting to over one dollar ($1).  If a library book is lost or damaged beyond repair, the patron will be charged the current replacement cost, plus a $2 handling fee.  If overdue materials have not been returned after the patron has been notified in an eight week period, the patron will be charged for current replacement cost plus a $2 handling fee.